Did You Know?

  • The Linn County Attorney's Office is on schedule to file over 800 Felony and 4000 Indictable cases in fiscal 2013-2014
  • There are 20 Assistant County Attorneys, 14 Support Staff, 2 Victim Witness Corrdinators and 1 Investigator in the Attorney's Office
The Linn County attorney is a constitutionally elected official. On July 1, 2010, Assistant Linn County Attorney Jerry Vander Sanden was sworn in to serve as county attorney. This vacancy was created when Linn County Attorney Harold Denton retired June 30 after serving in office since 2002. Vander Sanden ran unopposed for the office in the November 2010 election and was sworn in to serve as county attorney in January 2011. 

The county attorney is charged with the prosecution of criminal violations as defined by the Code of Iowa. The County Attorney's Office is comprised of 20 assistant Linn County attorneys and 15 support staff personnel and is divided into three divisions:
  • Civil
  • Criminal
  • Juvenile