Emergency Management

Emergency Management Agency logoThe Emergency Management Agency (EMA) coordinates emergency management programming for all residents and communities in Linn County, Iowa. The EMA addresses all risks that threaten the health, safety, and welfare of the community, including natural disasters, man-made or technological incidents, and civil actions.

Chapter 29C of the Code of Iowa establishes an Emergency Management Commission in every county in Iowa. The Emergency Management Agency is the operational office of the Emergency Management Commission.

The Commission and Agency are created separate from county government. 

The Linn County Emergency Management Commission is comprised of 20 members consisting of a member of the Board of Supervisors or its appointed representative, the Sheriff or his/her representative, and the Mayor or his/her representative from each of the incorporated municipalities of the county. 

To learn more, visit the EMA official site.