The Linn County Treasurer’s Office sees more traffic than most of our county offices. Here are the top five things to know to help make your visit efficient:
1) A Bill of Sale is Required
A Bill of Sale is required for all title transfers, even if the transfer is a gift or a private sale. The Linn County Treasurer’s Office established the requirement, as authorized by Iowa Code, as regular practice on January 1, 2020. This requirement became a state mandate January 1, 2022.
Completing a Bill of Sale serves as a legal contract from the seller to the buyer, providing the buyer with documentation of the purchase and the seller with a receipt of the sale.
Download a Bill of Sale form and learn more about selling a vehicle on our website.
2) New Linn County Residents
If you have recently moved or are moving to Iowa, vehicle registration is required even though your license plates may still be valid in another state. Bring your out of state title to the Treasurer’s Office within 30 days of bringing your vehicle into Iowa to get it registered. An application for Iowa title or registration will need to be completed and signed by all vehicle owners.
Find the application forms and additional title transfer information on our website.
Driver’s licenses for the State of Iowa are issued by the Iowa Department of Transportation. Information and appointment scheduling are available on their website.
3) Boat & Trailer Registration
Did you recently purchase a boat or are you planning to in the future? Boats and trailers sold as a package need their own titles or registration, price or value, and Bill of Sale. Boats are registered with their title in the Recorder’s Office and are assessed a 6% sales tax and a 1% Local Option Tax if there is a Local Option Tax in the county the boat was purchased in. Trailers less than 2000 pounds are registered with the Treasurer’s Office and are assessed a 5% fee for a new registration.
4) Title Transfers Cannot Be Done Online
Title transfers must be completed within 30 days from the date of sale before a penalty is imposed and cannot be done online because original documents are required to be surrendered. Once the vehicle title is transferred, its annual registration fee can be paid online through Iowa Tax & Tags.
Learn more about the title transfer process on our website. Both written instructions and informational videos are provided.
5) Property Tax Statements
Annual property tax statements are mailed to property owners in August and contain payment stubs for two installments. Property taxes are typically paid in two installments with the first due September 1 (payable by September 30) and the second due March 1 (payable by March 31). The due date is extended to the next business day when the payable date falls on a Saturday or Sunday. Property owners may pay their property taxes in full in September if they prefer. A separate statement is not mailed for the March installment. However, you can receive a reminder via text or email by signing up for notifications on our website.
Property tax payments can be submitted in the following ways:
- Online at iowataxandtags.org.
- By mailing payment to Linn County Treasurer at 935 2nd Street SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404. Make check payable to Linn County Treasurer.
- Via drop box in front of the Linn County Public Service Center. Be sure to include your contact information when dropping paperwork in the drop box.
- By phone at 319-892-5500.
- In person at the Linn County Public Service Center, 935 2nd Street SW, Cedar Rapids