News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/8/2016 9:12:22 AM to 1/8/2016 9:13:02 AM.

News Flash

Auditor's Office - Linn County

Posted on: January 8, 2016

[ARCHIVED] Dedra Beauregard appointed to Linn County Compensation Board

Dedra Beauregard

Linn County Auditor Joel D. Miller today announced the appointment of Ms. Dedra Beauregard of Central City to the Linn County Compensation Board (LCCB). Beauregard previously worked as a clerk, city carrier, and in some management positions with United States Postal Service. She retired after 30 years of service and has been a lifelong resident of Linn County.

Auditor Miller said, “I believe Dedra will add value to the LCCB’s deliberations. Recently, she has attended a number of Board of Supervisors (BOS) meetings, asked questions, and made comments. She has observed the BOS and other County officials in the performance of their duties. I believe Dedra will go out of her way to solicit input from the public as she readies for the January 19th meeting of the LCCB. In addition, Dedra’s acceptance of this appointment will bring gender balance to the LCCB as required by Code of Iowa Chapter 69.16A(2).”

Beauregard has served on Central City’s Cable Commission and its Planning & Zoning Board and she earned an associate degree from Kirkwood Community College. She is replacing Mr. Jon Konchar, who now resides outside of Linn County.

The LCCB was created by the 1977 Code of Iowa. The LCCB is comprised of seven members, i.e., two appointed by the BOS and one each appointed by the Attorney, Auditor, Recorder, Sheriff, and Treasurer. The LCCB makes recommendations on pay increases, if any, for the County’s elected officials. The BOS can accept or reject the LCCB’s recommendations, or reduce the recommendations on an equal basis for each elected official. Although the county compensation board statutes have been criticized over the years, no viable alternative has surfaced or received support from any of the stakeholders.

The other current members of the LCCB are: Mr. Steve Jackson, Sr.; Mr. Phil “Flip” Klinger; Mr. Karl Kolz; Ms. Nicole Lee; Ms. Mary Quass; and Mr. Raymond Stefani II. The Secretary to the LCCB is Ms. Barbara Schmitz and email for the LCCB should be addressed to [email protected].

Facebook Twitter Email