What is classification?
  • Real estate parcels are assigned a property classification by the assessor
  • This classification is to be consistent with the primary use of the property
  • There are currently five classifications of property in Iowa:
    • Residential
    • Commercial
    • Agricultural
    • Industrial
  • Classification may not necessarily be the same as the zoning of the property
  • Iowa Code Chapter 441.21

Show All Answers

1. My assessment has not changed, why have my property taxes increased?
2. What does my property tax pay for?
3. How does the Assessor determine the value of my property?
4. What is classification?
5. How does the Assessor determine Market Value?
6. How often is my property reassessed?
7. What do I do if I disagree with the assessed value of my property?
8. How do I appeal my assessment?
9. How is the Assessor appointed?