Before the end of voter pre-registration: Linn County registered voters may change their address without any proof of residency. After the end of voter pre-registration (15 days before the election): Linn County registered voters will need to have proper proof of residency to update their address if it is outside their previous precinct.
The following are acceptable proofs of residence:
- Iowa Driver’s License/Non-driver ID
- Residential Lease/ College Residency Letter
- Property Tax Statement (current within 45 days of final payment)
- Utility Bill, including cell phone bill
- Bank Statement
- Government Check/Document
Attester If you cannot prove where you live with the documents listed above, a registered voter from your precinct may attest for you. Both you and the attester will be required to sign an oath swearing the statements being made are true. Falsely attesting or being attested for is registration fraud. It is a class “D” felony and is punishable by a fine of up to $7,500 and up to 5 years in prison Linn County registered voters who move within their precinct do not need to provide proof of residency. The best way to prove residency when making a change of address is with a valid Iowa driver’s license with a current address printed on it.