Because the Mental Health Access Center receives funding from the East Central Mental Health Region, anyone who is 18 years of age or older and lives in the following counties can use the services of the Mental Health Access Center: Benton, Bremer, Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, and Linn. Patients can be brought in via law enforcement or mobile crisis teams. Patients can also be brought in with loved ones or come on their own.
- Individuals in need of immediate medical care
- Individuals who are violent at arrival or immediately prior to arrival with a likelihood that they will seriously hurt themselves, other patients, or Access Center employees
- Minors 17 years old or younger
Use of Mental Health Access Center services is 100 percent voluntary and the facility is not locked.