Historic Preservation


The Linn County Historic Preservation Commission is comprised of nine Linn County residents who are appointed by the Board of Supervisors for a three-year term. They possess an interest or expertise in architecture, architectural history, historic preservation, planning, building rehabilitation, conservation in general, or real estate. Commission membership is a volunteer position.

The Historic Preservation Commission works to identify, preserve and protect historic structures in Linn County (with the exception of the cities of Cedar Rapids, Marion, Mount Vernon, and Lisbon, which have their own commissions). The Commission accomplishes these goals by identifying and surveying historic properties, listing eligible properties in the National Register of Historic Places and reviewing federal undertakings that may impact historic properties.

The Commission also administers and monitors the Linn County Historic Preservation Grant Program.

The Commission does not oversee or regulate changes to historic buildings located in historic districts. Listing in the National Register does not place any restrictions on the use, treatment, transfer, or disposition of private property. Property owners with questions about making alterations to a building within a local historic district should contact the appropriate city government.

Commission Members (three-year terms)

Name Term Expires
Maura Pilcher 12/31/24
Todd McNall 12/31/25
Steven Ciha 12/31/23
Michael LeClere 12/31/25
Barb Westercamp 12/31/25
Hilary Copeland-Marvin 12/31/25
Nancy Kraft 12/31/24
Kim Hanna 12/31/23
Vacant 12/31/24


The Commission meets the third Wednesday of every month at 4 p.m. Members of the public are encouraged to attend. Please check the agenda below for information on how to access the meeting. 

Agendas & Minutes

Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All

Sign up to receive meeting and agenda notifications via text message or email.